From today’s New York Times:

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/09/health/gaps-seen-in-therapy-for-suicidal-teenagers.html?partner=rss&emc=rss∣=tw-nytimes&_r=0

[Updated Jan 11 – because the WP app for my phone I posted this from is less than stellar.]

Teenage years are very difficult.  Trying to help a suicidal teen is ten times more difficult.  What is as disturbing as it is unfortunate is the sense I get every time I read an article on teen depression and suicide: there is an undercurrent from the mental health establishment that they are somewhat at a loss on how to really treat these problems in this segment of the population.   Dr. Brent of the University of Pittsburgh said it best. “We can treat components of the overall problem, but that’s about all.”

I know.  And it haunts me every day.

