At first, I wasn’t sure what it is.  There is no crushing feeling on my chest.  Tears aren’t just below the surface.  My stomach isn’t in knots or burning at the solar plexus for some unidentified reason. I can see colors, smell flowers and appreciate humor. I’m in the groove, being productive.

Huh?  Oh, yeah.  I almost forgot.  This is what it’s like to be in recovery.

Whether it’s the meds or the move, this is such a welcome change.  It’s been over a year since I’ve felt anything akin to normal, I almost didn’t recognize it when the recovery began ~2.5 weeks ago.  Now, the trick is to sit back and enjoy it.  I admit there is some anxiety over how good I feel.  Sound ridiculous?  Anyone with BP will understand what I mean.  Riding the roller coaster again is inevitable.  According to NAMI, “Over a 10-year period, the average person living with bipolar disorder will have about four mood episodes.”  OK, I can live with that.  Betting with the odds, I really am in a remission.

So, I think I will go and appreciate the sunshine, enjoy the outing that’s planned for today and just take life as it comes…and not forget to take my med.

