First, the obvious.  For those of us with BPD, regulated sleep is probably the most important thing when it comes to regulating our moods.  Once that circadian rhythm is off, then all bets are off, too.

When I finally took that relocation flight across the pond last Thursday, I knew my sleep was going to suffer a major blow.  I tried to plan a schedule that would ease me into my new time zone.  What I didn’t count on was a fussier than fussy German Shepherd writhing around on a wooden floor while sleeping throwing the whole thing off 🙂  And, of course this didn’t happen just one night, it was three in a row.

With the German Shepherd relegated to my son’s room and much nighttime medication ingested I finally got things under control.  I wish I could say I caught the disturbance in time, but I didn’t.  The Black Dog started to encroach on my life once again.  Yesterday my husband must have asked me half a dozen times how I was doing…the affects of sleep deprivation were that clear.  Thankfully last night was a quality sleep night and I feel better this morning.  One more night of good sleep and I should be back on an even keel.

So, kids, the moral of this story (as if you didn’t already know) is sleep is very important (duh) and if your moods are all over the place, take a look at the quality and regulation of your sleep.  If I’d had the presence of mind to nip it in the bud after day one, I may not have slid so far down the slope.

Bipolar Disorder and the Importance of Sleep

The Ecology of Bipolar Disorder: The Importance of Sleep

